The Adventures Never End!

Written by Alison Michalak from University of Arkansas on our Spring Spain program! Read more on Ali’s blog: http://wildandjoyfulsoul.weebly.com/. Check out our Spain program!

289122_orig.jpg

Hey everybody!
I wanted to give a little update from this weekend and these past few days. This weekend I got to go with the 14 other girls in my program to our mentor’s house in a suburb outside of Sevilla (Yes we took the metro and no we did not get lost). Our mentors are a lovely couple named Carey and Sharon (Miguel and Sara are their Spanish names) that have been missionaries in Spain for 25 years. They (along with an awesome lady named Lara) are in charge of leading our weekly bible study, organizing outreach events, getting us plugged into volunteer work and of course being our mentors for the semester. So this weekend we went and stayed the night at their house and spent our days eating great food, sharing our stories, and learning more about each other’s lives. I feel so blessed to have such a strong sense of community with these people in such a short amount of time. It was so cool to be able to encourage each other with our stories and feel completely confident in our vulnerability with each other. I can’t wait to see how the Lord grows our friendships this semester. I have no doubt in my mind that these girls will be friends for life!!
 
So anyways, after a relaxing weekend, I came back home to my familiar neighborhood and class schedule. It’s been nice to start getting my daily routine down! I love drinking my morning coffee with my roommate and host mom. I love my 3 hours of Spanish every day. I love my afternoon runs through the stunning streets.  And I love my siesta. This is something that is very near and dear to my heart. Now contrary to popular belief, a lot of people don’t actually nap during the siesta, they just come home for lunch and a enjoy a little relaxing family time. However, I have promised myself to truly immerse myself in the culture while I am here so the past few days I have indeed perfected the “siesta-nap” if I do say so myself. I fully support this cultural norm and would encourage any and all to practice it if you get the chance. (If you have any questions about how to get the perfect siesta feel free to contact me or Abby Middleton, she is also a natural at the siesta)
FullSizeRender (61)
But enough about my sleep schedule, let’s talk about more exciting things like future travel plans. My roommate Autumn and I just booked tickets to Greece for early April!!!!! Ahhhhh so pumped! Two other girls are joining us on this venture around Athens, Santorini, and surrounding islands. So excited to get all the details organized for our rendition of the Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants movies. Also, next weekend we have an excursion to Malaga, Spain, and a Morocco trip in March! SO PUMPED TO EXPLORE ALL THESE NEW PLACES IN THIS BEAUTIFUL WORLD.
 
For now, I am headed off to photography class! This weekend I’m not traveling, so mis amigas y yo plan on exploring all Sevilla has to offer- there is so much we have yet to see! I absolutely love the feeling of exploring a new city and finding all the cool cafés and hidden streets. I can’t wait to know this city like the back of my hand. All in all this week has left me with a full and hopeful heart!!! 
 
Sending lots of love and joy your way,
❤ Als
 
p.s. I want to shout out to my awesome roommate Autumn. So lucky I hit the jackpot in the roommate area. She shares my love of parks and rec, Jesus, exploration, and a good pun. Never change Zubricki.  

Leave a Reply

